Kaleidoscope

a9small

a9smalldetail

a9smalldetail1

A new direction for me that actually goes back to where Kit and Caboodle started. I have so many images of bugs, butterflies and birds from various museums that I just had to experiment with the beautiful colours and shapes.

This work is made up from specimens from Maidstone Museum, the Beaney in Canterbury and the Horniman in London. The outside edge is actually made up of alive bugs and butterflies that I have photographed in both Butterfly farms and around me. I wanted to give the sense that they are escaping both the order and an untimely end. The numbers on the museum labelling are my children`s ages and the year 2016, I have to get a little of myself in there.

The whole image puts me in mind of a Kaleidoscope which is the working title for the possible series.

