Things found in the sea…

waterrsmall

This is by far the most intricate image I have ever made! It is part of my continuing series that was called Kit and Caboodle but which I have now renamed Memories, Dreams , Reflections after the Jung book of the same name.

“Only gradually did I discover what the mandala really is:…the Self, the wholeness of the personality, which if all goes well is harmonious.” Carl Jung, Memories, Dreams, Reflections,

Jung spoke of the urge to produce Mandalas at times of intense personal growth and as a way of rebalancing the psyche, the result is said to be a more complex and integrated personality.

I began producing these Mandala like patterns and designs almost on a whim and an urge. I tried to justify their creation in terms of a Western consumerism and our irreverence to the things around us but I have ultimately stumbled upon the revelation that I am perhaps subconsciously rewiring myself.

The images have become more and more complex and increasingly involve objects from my own environment and home.

