Taxidermy birds

birdsmall

A reworking of the taxidermy birds from the Beaney in Canterbury. I find myself making more and more intricate responses to my project Kit and Caboodle. I am now considering entering this picture or another from the series in to the Bentlif Art prize, run by Maidstone Museum. I was convinced I would enter Plant Hunter but an image has grown in my head of the work above printed at 150 cm square on a silky fabric maybe. The use of fabric is prompted by the strong associations this collage has with some Asian and Indian textiles. I am thinking hard as to how I could attach a fabric panel to the wall neatly and simply, struggling with that though. I should not worry too much about it at this stage though as it might not even get through the judging process!

