Beresford`s lost villages

 

village3small

 

villagesmall

I am embarking on a new project inspired by Namesake. I am hoping to document Maurice Warwick Beresford`s lost villages in Kent, which are compiled in a book called the `Lost Villages of England` There are a lot so wish me luck…

At the moment I am experimenting with methods of capturing them. I like the idea of long exposure night work but whether I can pull it off is another thing. These first images are of a playing field opposite where my children went to school and where I went to university.

The location is marked as being once called Monkton and was either a medieval settlement or Hamlet. It seems a good place to start as it is where I started on my photography path and a good sign perhaps, although it is quite difficult to make a playing field look interesting!

