Burial Ground Lane

burial ground lane 1small

Well Burial ground Lane is thought to be the possible site of a Saxon or Viking burial ground hence it`s name. Another interesting fact is that there is actually a more recent burial ground in Burial Ground Lane, begun in the early 19th century by a Anabaptist group who worshipped close by in a house called Bydews. It seems strange to me that they buried their dead on Burial Ground Lane, but there is a precedence for such things, sites of worship can be built on top of each other over and over again as though something has seeped in to the very ground.

I chose a bad day to do my shoot though, on a Sunday, the local tip is on the lane and a huge traffic queue was there to greet me when I arrived! So I had to set up my tripod in front of a large and bored audience. I hate people around when I work, I hate the questions. How exactly do you explain this project to someone? They always look at you like you are slightly mad, maybe I am. Anyway I got woof whistles really they must have been bored, I got asked “do you know what camera that is?” what kind of question is that, of course I bloody do! Oh and “How much was that camera?”  honestly I despair of humanity sometimes in doing this project I have definitely faced some strange questions!

The place was probably the least inspiring place I have ever visited apart from Deadmans Corner but that`s another story. As i`ve already said it`s the site of the tip and a tiny industrial estate, the lane is not very long either and very sparse on inspiration but that`s the challenge sometimes I suppose! I had to look hard to find any shoot that talked to me, in the end I went for the hedge above as the tangles of foliage appealed and the shot below because the marks in the road reminded me perhaps of  freshly dug graves. I`m not sure of either image and I will probably revisit this location, like Deadmans corner, again. Inhabited spaces are harder than a empty landscapes in the way that I have to somehow fit them in to the rest of the series. We shall see they may never make the cut:)

burial ground lanesmall

