Still life project in progress…

krispysmall

sausage rollsmall

irving Pennsmall

kfc darkersmaller

In this project I am exploring the concept of originality as well as the aesthetics of branding and the appearance of a take away food society. In replacing objects within still life images throughout the history of art I want people to question societies dereliction for mass produced processed food but I also want to highlight an ever increasing barrage of image making that is exponentially growing everyday. While researching Irving Penn`s `Salad Ingredients` I discovered that it has been copied many times and that some of these copies are being cited as by Penn. The reason for this could be that the first `Salad Ingredients` that comes up under a google search for `Irving Penn` is a photographer`s copy of the original. I reproduced my Penn image from that copy so perpetuating that myth of originality.